January 6th, 2016

September 17th, 2015

September 10th, 2015

May 5th, 2015

December 23rd, 2014

December 2nd, 2014

October 23rd, 2014

August 21st, 2014

August 8th, 2014

June 6th, 2014

May 6th, 2014

March 17th, 2014

January 9th, 2014

Deutsch
Vidimensio 3D Technology

Camera Sync Tester User Guide

Content

Introduction

The Camera Sync Tester software (click here to download) has been developed to measure the mis-sync of two or more video cameras using a CRT monitor's electron beam as reference motion. Knowing the mis-sync of cameras is, for example, important when taking stereoscopic photos or recording stereoscopic videos using two cameras.

Measuring mis-sync is usually done by recording a well known motion so that the time offset between a pair of images can be calculated afterwards, based on different stages of motion. Real moving objects are difficult to handle. It is much simpler to use a CRT monitor's electron beam as reference motion instead.

Important: This article was written a few years ago when CRT monitors and CCDs with global shutter were common. The method described does not work with LCDs. When testing cameras with CMOS sensors, the rolling shutter effect might interfere with the measurement method.

Command Line Parameters

-x   Horizontal screen resolution
-y   Vertical screen resolution, limited to 768 pixel
-f   Refresh rate

Example: Synctest.exe -x1024 -y768 -r100 runs the Camera Sync Tester at a resolution of 1024 x 768 pixel at 100 Hz.

Using Camera Sync Tester

To measure the mis-sync, run the Camera Sync Tester and capture the screen using the cameras under test. Try to keep the exposure time of both cameras as short as possible. Please note that only CRT monitors can be used for this purpose, LCD displays don't work!

Test pattern shown by Camera Sync Tester. After each refresh cycle, the number of vertical bars is increased.

Afterwards, analyze corresponding frames taken from the first and second camera. In each frame, you see the position of the monitor's electron beam, but usually this position will be different for the frames of the first and second camera (except they are 100% in sync). The difference of the last visible lines corresponds to the mis-sync. Depending on the exposure time, more than one line will be visible. We strongly recommend to use the positions of the bottom lines for doing the calculations, because these are the ones drawn most recently (the top lines are fading away, so there will be no sharp edge).

For the following calculations, we need the monitor's current horizontal (fHoriz) and vertical (fVert) refresh rates. Your monitor's on-screen menu will tell you these value. The time the electron beam needs to draw one line is:

tLine = 1 / fHoriz

The time the electron beam needs to draw a whole frame is:

tFrame = 1 / fVert

To calculate the mis-sync tOffset, we multiplay tLine with the difference of the last line numbers z1 and z2 visible in the left and right image:

tOffset = (z2 - z1) / fHoriz

If left and right frames do not show the same number of vertical bars (b1, b2) then the mis-sync is greater than the duration of one screen refresh cycle! In this case, one or more screen refresh cycles (tFrame) must be added to the previous result.

tOffset = (z2 - z1) / fHoriz + (b2 - b1) / fVert

The Camera Sync Tester package includes an Excel spreadsheet which allows to evaluate the results of multiple measurements conveniently.

Example

Take a look at the image above. As you can see, the right image was recorded slightly earlier, since the electron beam has just reached line z1 = 223 whereas it is already at line z2 = 403 on the left image. Both images where taken during the same refresh cycle because the number of vertical bars are equal (b1 = b2 = 2).

In our example, the screen was set to the standard VGA mode at 60 Hz (fHoriz = 31.5 kHz, fVert = 60 Hz) while taking the images. Don't confuse horizontal and vertical frequencies. The horizontal frequency fHoriz is always higher than the vertical frequency, which is usually in the range of 60 - 200 Hz.

tOffset = (403 - 223) / 31500 Hz + (2 - 2) / 60 Hz = 5.7 ms

Choosing Resolution and Refresh Rate

What resolution and refresh rates should be used? For videos, the default settings, 640 x 480 pixel at 60 Hz are sufficient. A higher resolution does not make sense because you would not be able to distinguish lines anymore. A higher refresh rate does not make sense either. However, if you want to measure the mis-sync of your high resolution stereo photo camera, a higher resolution could make sense.

6. Juni 2018

6. Jänner 2016

17. September 2015

10. September 2015

5. Mai 2015

English

Anleitung für den Camera Sync Tester

Inhalt

Einführung

Die Software Camera Sync Tester wurde entwickelt um den Synchronisationsfehler von zwei oder mehr Kameras mit Hilfe des Elektronenstrahls eines Röhrenmonitors als Referenzbewegung zu messen. Die Kenntnis des Synchronisationsfehlers ist beispielsweise bei der Aufnahme von stereoskopischen Fotos oder Videos mittels zweier Kameras.

Zur Messung des Synchronisationsfehlers wird üblicherweise eine exakt definierte Bewegung aufgezeichnet, sodass aus den unterschiedlichen Bewegungsphasen zweier Aufnahmen der Zeit-Offset abgeleitet werden kann. Echte bewegte Objekte sind schwierig zu handhaben. Es ist wesentlich einfacher stattdessen den Elektronenstrahl eines Röhrenbildschirms als Referenzbewegung zu verwenden.

Wichtiger Hinweis: Dieser Aritkel wurde vor einigen Jahren verfasst als Röhrenmonitore und CCDs mit Global Shutter gebräuchlich waren. Die beschriebene Messmethode funktioniert nicht mit Flachbildschirmen und der Rolling Shutter von Kameras mit CMOS-Sensoren beeinträchtigt unter Umständen die Messung.

Kommandozeilenparameter

-x   Horizontale Bildschirmauflösung
-y   Vertikale Bildschirmauflösung, begrenzt auf 768 Pixel
-f   Bildwiederholrate

Beispiel: Synctest.exe -x1024 -y768 -r100 startet den Camera Sync Tester mit einer Auflösung von 1024 x 768 Pixel bei 100 Hz.

Verwendung des Camera Sync Testers

Zur Messung des Synchronisationsfehlers wird der Camera Sync Tester gestartet und dessen Bildschirmausgaben mit beiden Kameras aufgenommen. Die Belichtungszeit sollte dabei so kurz wie möglich gehalten werden. Bitte beachten Sie, dass nur Röhrenmonitore für diesen Zweck geeignet sind, LCD-Bildschirme nicht!

Vom Camera Sync Tester angezeigtes Testmuster. Mit jedem Bildwiederholzyklus erhöht sich die Zahl der vertikalen Streifen.

Anschließend müssen die korrespondierenden Aufnahmen der linken und rechten Kamera ausgewertet werden. Auf jeder Aufnahme lässt sich die Position des Elektronenstrahls zum Zeitpunkt der Aufnahme erkennen. Normalerweise wird die Position auf beiden Aufnahmen unterschiedlich ausfallen, außer die Kameras hätten 100% synchron gearbeitet. Aus der Differenz der untersten sichtbaren Zeilen folgt er Synchronisationsfehler. Je nach Belichtungszeit ist nicht nur eine sondern sind mehrere Bildschirmzeilen sichtbar. Wir empfehlen immer die Nummern der letzten sichtbaren Zeilen für die folgenden Berechnungen heranzuziehen weil diese zuletzt gezeichnet wurden (die oberen Zeilen verblassen langsam, sodass keine klar sichtbare Kante entsteht).

Für die folgenden Berechnungen wir die aktuelle Horizontal- (fHoriz) und Vertikalfrequenz (fVert) des Monitors benötigt. Das On-Screen-Menü des Monitors gibt diese Werte preis. Die Zeitdauer, welche der Elektronenstrahl zum Zeichnen einer Zeile benötigt, ergibt sich zu:

tLine = 1 / fHoriz

Die Dauer für ein vollständiges Bild ergibt sich zu:

tFrame = 1 / fVert

Zur Berechnung des Synchronisationsfehlers tOffset, muss tLine mit der Zeilennummerndifferenz der letzten sichtbaren Zeilen z1 und z2 des linken und rechten Bildes multipliziert werden:

tOffset = (z2 - z1) / fHoriz

Falls linkes und rechtes Bild nicht dieselbe Anzahl an vertikalen Streifen (b1, b2) zeigen, dann ist der Synchonisationsfehler größer als die Dauer eines Bildwiederholzyklus. In diesem Fall müssen ein oder mehrerer Bildwiederholzyklen (tFrame) zum vorherigen Ergebnis hinzuaddiert werden.

tOffset = (z2 - z1) / fHoriz + (b2 - b1) / fVert

Das Package des Camera Sync Tester enthält eine Excel-Tabelle, welche die Auswertung mehrerer Messungen vereinfacht.

Beispiel

Werfen Sie einen Blick auf diese Aufnahmen. Wie sie sehen können wurde das rechte Bild geringfügig später aufgenommen, da der Elektronenstrahl erst Zeile  z1 = 223 erreicht hat, während er im linken Bild bereits Zeile z2 = 403 erreicht hat. Beide Bilder wurden während dem gleichen Bildwiederholzyklus aufgenommen, da die Anzahl horizontaler Streifen gleich ist (b1 = b2 = 2).

In unserem Fall wurde der Bildschirm im VGA-Modus mit 60 Hz betrieben, während diese Bilder aufgenommen wurden (fHoriz = 31.5 kHz, fVert = 60 Hz). Verwechseln Sie bitte nicht die Horizontal- und Vertikalfrequenz. Die Horizontalfrequenz ist immer höher als die Vertikalfrequenz, die üblicherweise im Bereich von 60 - 200 Hz liegt.

tOffset = (403 - 223) / 31500 Hz + (2 - 2) / 60 Hz = 5.7 ms

Wahl von Auflösung und Bildwiederholrate

Welche Bildschirmauflösung und Bildwiederholrate sollte für die Messungen gewählt werden? Für Videokameras ist der Standardwert von 640 x 480 Pixel bei 60 Hz ausreichend. Eine höherer Auflösung macht keinen Sinn, da zusätzliche Bildzeilen ohnehin nicht unterschieden werden könnten, ebenso eine höhere Bildwiederholrate. Für hoch auflösende Fotokameras sind höhere Auflösungen jedoch durchaus angebracht.